index
archives
profile
cast
links
notes
email
dland

I will Never Win The Lottery

(2006-02-25 - 14:53)

Eight people won the largest Powerball jackpot in american history last saturday night. They all worked in a meatpacking plant in Lincoln, Nebraska together. They decided to take the cash lump-sum option which means that even after the tax man gets his share, they each still get over 15 million U.S. Dollars.

When I first heard that someone from Nebraska had won I was spitting mad, as usual, just because it wasn't me. But then CNN began telling more about these people. Two I think are Vietnamese immigrants, one is elderly, and now I forget the stories, but as I listened, I thought, "Poor people, now that's hard work in a meat packing plant!". The reporter interviewing one man, a maintenance supervisor in the plant, said that the eight had all already talked about saving the biggest portion of the winnings and living off the interest. "Okay", I thought, "These people both deserve the money and have some sense", so I no longer begrudge them winning.

So what about me? I think its fairly obvious that I'm not going to win the lottery, so I had better think of another way to make my millions.
I've been thinking about the things I am good at, and I've decided that I'm not really REALLY good at anything, however, I can write. I've tried songwriting, poetry, and short stories, but none of those really panned out for me. The only thing I've ever been told I should do is write. No one ever said, "ya know Tim, you should be in Nashville." So I guess y'all won't ever see me on the Grand Ol' Opry any time soon.

I love to write. To me my pen and this keyboard are weapons against all the injustice of the world. Words are my salvation, my saving grace when all is lost in a world of sludge and muck. When I am sad, depressed or confused, I write. When I am happy, elated or satiated, I write. When I am angry, hurt or lovestruck, I write. Plain and simple, I am a writer.
In a world of syntax, prepositional phrases and double entendre, I can rule. This is my world.

So with some serious thought, I've made a decision. I've had the outline both in my head and on paper for some time now, and an entry I made several days ago sparked an interest in revisiting that dream. I'm going to write.

<< starboard ~ port >>