index
archives
profile
cast
links
notes
email
dland

"Show Horses" and other attrocities

(2006-05-13 - 00:30)

I will be the very first to admit that I am a fanatic where the rights of animals and children are concerned. I simply cannot help it. I have been, over the years, criticised and made fun of, for my staunch belief in animal rights. Let's just get this straight. If you abuse anything, an animal of any kind or a child, I have no use for you. I'm sorry. Normally I'm tolerant on most issues, to a fault some would say, but not when it comes to cruelty to those that cannot help themselves.

Personally, I think it says a tremendous amount about you and your most inner being if you are able to be cruel to animals. If you read much, you could do research and discover that a very large number of violent criminals acted out youthfull versions of their soon to be adult behaviour on animals.

Why then, would it come as a shock to society, social workers, juvinal workers or parents when "Johnny" gets locked up for serial murder or rape when all his childhood neighbors remember him as, "that kid that cut up all those cats".

Some freinds of mine, may no longer be my freinds tonight. They invited my family to come watch them "show" their horses. Already I have a problem. Why couldn't they just ask me to come see the horses? No, they want me to dress up in uncomfortable clothes and watch people be cruel to horses.

The father "shows" Tennessee Walker horses. He weighs in at over 200 pounds. The fancy tack adds another 75 or so. These poor animals are trained to "prance" this way by tying six inch or higher pads on the front feet. This forces the back into an unnatural angle that hurts, plain and simple. Don't get me wrong people, I love horses, and I ride as well, but I only pleasure ride. I'm not about to force an animal into pain so that other humans can enjoy how they LOOK while they HURT! Its sickening! I'm sorry. You have the right to disagree with me, and if you do, so be it. Just don't ask me to come to your functions and brag on you for petes sake!

My wife wanted to go, I say go if youy want, but without me. My daughter is confused, and wanted to see the horses, but didn't know they were hurting. The other family is mad at me, because they were looking to sell me some of the horses from their stable. 1. I cannot afford a horse right now, and 2. I will never buy a walker, I only pleasure ride and refuse to contribute to unnatural gaits.

I quote him here.....

"An animal, like a horse, is nothing but a tool. It needs to be sharpened, honed to a razor's edge."

Screw You, you heartless excuse of a human!

<< starboard ~ port >>