index
archives
profile
cast
links
notes
email
dland

9-11 Remembered

(2006-09-11 - 18:26)

At eight thirthy in the morning, central time, the timer plugged into my bedroom wall made its coplete rotation to the red mark that monday morning. When it got there it triggered a relay which opened the flow of electricity through it, powering on the television set that I had plugged into it as an impromtu alarm clock.

I sleep very light, if at all, so I lay there listening to the old set warm up, with it's odd pops and high voltage sizzles as the CRT comes to life. It reminds me of myself trying to wake up some mornings, or rather, trying not to give in to the urge to just blow off the day and stay in bed, maybe I'd get some sleep that way.

My irrisposible thoughts were interrupted by the rather obviously upset news reporter. I will never forget her chilling words as long as I live. "It appears that an aircraft has crashed into the world trade center." She was saying, with disturbing footage playing behind her.

I punched my wife and said, "Hey, you better see this, I think this is big!" Together we sat on the bed and watched that old set as that terrible morning unfolded. We were glued to that set. I don't remember saying anything at all during that whole morning other than expletives when the second plane struck the second tower, then the pentagon, and the failed attempt that crashed in the Pennylsvania feilld.

The first plane crash I thought it was fluke, a horrible accident. When the second crash occured, I knew it was an attack. It was like being forced to sit and watch a relative being raped and killed, helpless to react.

As I now reflect back on that day, I resent like hell being forced into a defensive state. I'll tell you something else, I have questions. I question the ability of this sitting congress to make any kind of intelligent decision at all. I mean how can they, when more than half of this congress has an absenteism rate that get my arse fired! How are they supposed to have the facts about any upcoming bills when more than not an authoring senator is speaking to an empty house? Case in point, border security. What kind of yo-yo's do we have running this country when they can't figure out that these terrorists are crossing our borders and wouldn't have even been here in the first place had these dingle berries been doing what the american people pay them to do in the first place! Even an inbred living in a trailer park in Alma Arkansas with his sister would eventually figure out that immigration reform doesn't mean crap until you close the borders.

Look, maybe it's high time we start mandating drug tests for both the house and senate. We make a kid take one to work in McDonalds don't we? Wait, never mind, better yet, let's let the kid go to washington and make laws the freaking senators work at McDonald's! "Would you like any fries with your order sir?" Yeah, that sounds about their speed.

Hey, I'm not being unsensitive or disrespective to the victims of 9-11. What I am is scared to death that I will have toi watch another day of television like I did on September the eleventh, 2001. I don't want to do that ever again. I'm just screaming out to our government to wake the hell up and start using some common damn sense here. There people are freaking serious! They want to kill us, all of us. Why in the living hell are our borders, after FIVE YEARS still wide open?????

To all the men, woman and children that lost their lives that day or as a result of that day, I salute you. This entry is, humbly, dedicated to you.

Good Night America, Diaryland, and of course, my Mermaid....

<< starboard ~ port >>