index
archives
profile
cast
links
notes
email
dland

Who's at the helm?

(2007-03-02 - 22:16)

This was actually said to me today over the phone by a university of DeVry represenitive. I caution to use the title "councelor".

"...thank you for your interest in our universities life credit program... Blahblahblah ...but we do not see any portion of your military service record that can be transcribed. Blowing things up or killing people isn't exactly the key points a prospective company looks for in its IT people."

The gall!

The more I thought about it the madder I got. Not as much about me per se, but what of all the thousands of Marines (and other servicemen and women) that are coming back to the real world after one, two, three or more tours of Afghanistan or Iraq? What of the guy who lost half his squad and his right arm to an insurgent's roadside bomb or IED?
That pompous ass at DeVry sits at his desk in cushioned safety dishing out judgement on the very souls that protect him. He sips $4.00 Starbucks cafe latte while good men die under the Baghdad sun.

I asked that little SOS if he earned his degree from Devry, and in particular his "people skills". He informed me all of his higher education had, in fact, been acheived at DeVry. "Well", I began, "that tells me a whole lot about your school, sir. If you are educated, then I will be better served ignorant. Good day."

THIS is the kind of stupid @#*$ that pushes people over the edge!

Did you see the pictures of Walter Reed militart hospital on the news? Did you know they just fired the General in command of that hospital? Not only are we taking away benifits people have died for, now we are going to warehouse wounded combat veterans in substandard hospitals when they get home!!

I am seriously wondering at this point; Who is at the helm?

<< starboard ~ port >>