index
archives
profile
cast
links
notes
email
dland

Periods, Courtney and Bagdhad

(02.04.2008 - 1:09 am)

It's been ages since I've updated here, and while not much has happened externally really, a lot has changed internally. A major external change that will hopefully help me write here (and other places) has occurred. Rather than go into a lengthy, rather boring detailed account of how or why said change has happened, suffice it to say that there was change in my employment. I still work at the same company, just a very different job. One that outwardly appears to appeal to my bank account as well as my id. I'm going to possibly see a very large increase in my profit margin as a direct result of the change, and, unbelievably, more quality home time as well. If my predictions are correct, I could very well be on my way to the good life, or, that is, middle class and, (sigh) suburbia! Look out America!

Was it just me or did 2007 just really suck? No, I'm serious here. I know of no one that I have talked to that just was really happy with the year. I am beyond happy it is gone. Good riddance I say! Be gone, and never look back.

I have so much I want to change about me this year, and I want to change these things about me because "I" want to do so, not because someone else is telling me I should, or anything other reason. So much of my life has been wasted whilst I stumbled through it following too many sets of directions and instructions. How insane is it that at this late stage in my life I am just now getting but glimpses of what I should be and should have been doing and feeling? I guess that the planets all line up so rarely that it would take a long time to see through the fog. Or, was I just sleeping?

So, anyway, here is my list of stuff I want to change about me, or do, or change, whatever the case may be. They are in no particular order really.

Spend more time with my family.
They've been through hell the last several years, and I can be a real shit sometimes. I need to reconnect with my daughter. Something has kind of changed, the distance can almost be felt now, and I never want to lose her. She is a teenager now, so she's going through physiological, chemical, and mental changes right now. That�s heavy man, you know that? As a guy hitting puberty, I was already goofy as unborn sin, so I doubt anybody noticed a thing when I started changing. I want to pick my guitar back up, so maybe that�s something we could do together still, if she wants too. I bought her a Peavey and amp a year or so ago, and she plays acoustic mainly, but If I show her some riffs, I bet she�d be all over it. I mean after all, she�s into punk music as well a country, and says she wants to meld the two. It should be an interesting ride. The smaller one is into percussions and always has been. I have photos of her while we are on vacation in the mountains where she could have played with all kinds of things, but wasn�t happy unless we let her play with the pots, pans, and spoons. She quickly started �drumming� and to this day will drum with pencils while she thinks. She wants an electronic drum set for her birthday. I would imagine she will get it too! She has a practice pad and sticks and knows how to keep time and the difference between � time and 4/4 time.

But I digress, so back to the list.

Restart an exercise program.
I�ve put on some poundage that I am way unhappy with. I don�t want to be �this� anymore. Beyond physical appearance, this isn�t healthy. Wouldn�t it just suck beyond belief to finally make it through all the B.S. of living with depression, to see the other side and then fall over dead from a stroke or heart attack? Screw that, man! I was up to three Miles a day walking without stopping, I�ll get there again!~ (Watch for updates with that at my �sandflea� journal.)

Get out of debt.
I am so sick of credit card people that I could go postal on these cretins! I dream of day when I have no credit cards and no debt, other than my mortgage, and then I�ll be dreaming about getting rid of that! CREDIT CARDS ARE EVIL! ~ Just say NO to Credit Cards!

Finish my Jeep Project.
I bought a running jeep a couple of years ago, all with the intentions of having fun riding around the place and the forest with it. Then I decided that I needed to �redo� the whole thing, all the way to the frame. That�s all that�s left out there, is the frame. Poor ol� Jeep.

Finish the drawings for the patents ideas.
Yes, I know that sounds, weird, but remember this list was supposed to be to remind myself of these things as well as talk about them. So, I�ve got a few ideas that one of those patent lawyers thinks sounds good, and wants me to put my ideas on paper. The trouble is, I am not a very trusting kind of guy. Ironic, huh?

Start saving for, and planning for, my Silver Wedding Anniversary in 2010.
I find it amazing that this woman that calls me her husband and remains my best friend, hasn�t thrown me out at some point during the last 22 years. I am truly a lucky man. Thing is, life gets so crazy that I often forget to tell her these kinds of things. So to help make up for it, I have this plan. I am going to ask her to marry me again on our 25th. If she says yes, then we will have another ceremony and a real honeymoon on a cruise to Italy. I know it sounds cheesy as all get-out, but I think it�s something she would enjoy, just the two of us, before I�m decrepit and in a freaking wheelchair drooling my vanilla pudding down the front of my sweatshirt while sitting in urine. (eww! Excuse the graphics) Publish!
That one�s self explanatory.

Well, this fine red wine begins to take it�s toll on me, so I shall bid you, my fine reader, adieu for now. I shall return soon with more of the list, and as a plus, the real reason I�m NOT in Bagdad right now. Stay tuned, and see you next time.
jusque-l� mon amour
Au revoir,
Tim

Tim is �
listening to: HOLE/Live Through This/Violet
Reading: The Minix Book/ Operating Systems / Andrew S. Tanenbaum
Thinking about: ��did Courtney really kill Kurt? Really??�

<< starboard ~ port >>