index
archives
profile
cast
links
notes
email
dland

The Accident Revisited

(02.08.2004 - 12:58 pm)

Yesterday at 2:18 I had an anniversary. It has been exactly one year since The Accident . To say it was life changing would be an understatement. I no longer drive in unsafe conditions, and will sleep in a rest area before risking another horrible night like that one. A lot of time has passed since that night, and now only three events just jut out at me whenever I think about it. I remember vividly every moment of the entire night, and often relive it in both waking moments and in sleep. By far though, the wheels locking up, the engine dying, the sound of the sliding wheels and watching that vehicle getting bigger and bigger stand out. The immediate deathly quiet right after impact I will never forget either, but by far the most eerie has to be that poor man trapped underneath the truck two vehicles ahead of me. I still hear him. I hear his screams and his dying moans pleading for someone, anyone to help him. The sight of the emergency workers lifting first the truck, then his lifeless body from the scene twelve hours later is a sight I will never forget. He died face down in the snow with snow in his hands where he tried to claw his way out.

Yes, it has been a year since I stood fourteen hours in the middle of interstate 84 in one and a half feet of snow, the only walking survivor of that night�s accident in a lost daze. I am lucky, so very lucky to even be alive, and I think of it constantly. I don�t sleep at night while on the truck. I wonder why?

<< starboard ~ port >>