index
archives
profile
cast
links
notes
email
dland

day one

(Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2003 - 1:02 am)

Dear Savannah, Today I held you for the first time in my arms. They took you off oxygen this morning and you maintained the saturation they were looking for without it. What a strong little thing you are! You lifted the plastic hood off you and tossed it aside. I don�t think you liked it very much. Today was a huge day for you, because you had so many firsts in one day! Today you had your first bottle, first poop and eyes opened for the first time as well. You are a very vocal baby, not crying very much at all, but rather �talking� and grunting. Your hearing is very good, because you jumped when the nurse shut the door a little too hard. You can feel because you pull your feet back when I tickle them. Your color is really good and pink, like it should be. You were a little blueberry yesterday though! I was worried about you. The DNA tests are back now and your doctor says she doesn�t see the chromosome for downs syndrome, something your mommy has worried about because she is 40 years old. Today your maw-maw and sister held you as well. You were most active in your mommy�s arms, but fell asleep each time I held you. You are a beautiful baby, and I am ever so happy to have you in my life. This is a picture I took of you in your maw-maw�s arms. I love you Savannah, and sweet dreams.

<< starboard ~ port >>