index
archives
profile
cast
links
notes
email
dland

Doctor Visit

(07.07.2003 - 11:25 pm)

Dear Savannah,

Today you are two weeks old. Today was also your first day out of the house, as your mommy and I took you to your first doctor�s visit. I was worried about having you in the waiting room for so long where all the sick children were and had been. I know they keep them clean and all, but it still unnerved me. I thought they would never call your name. Don�t get me wrong, I felt sorry for all those sick little guys in there, and their parents, but you are such a strong well baby, and I don�t want you to have to be sick needlessly. I held you tight against me and pretty much kept you covered, including most of your face. I must have looked like one of those germ freak people, but there are times that I could care less what people think of me, so long as it keeps you safe.

Finally the nurse called out your name, and I was ever so grateful to move into the visitation room. In two weeks you have gained 3 ounces and one half an inch! I thought it should have been more, but your doctor said you were doing fantastic and some babies have even lost a little weight at this appointment. I suppose it might be water gain that those babies loose at this point, I�m not sure. I didn�t ask him to elaborate on why he was happy, just telling me that you were doing fantastic is enough. The doctor checked you out all over and in checking your umbilical cord stump, decided it was time to take that thing off. You threw a temper tantrum when he twisted that thing off. I winced, your mother involuntarily inhaled. I knew it needed to be done, and it was ready, but I wish there was a better way to do that. Your sister�s just fell off on its own accord. He said yours was much thicker and he needed to help it. I�m glad you won�t remember that.

When we got home, we set up the winding swing that was your sister�s and put you in it. You slept the best five hours in your life. The swinging motion just made all the difference.

I�m going back to work tomorrow sweetheart; those bills in the inbox won�t pay themselves, as bad as I want them too. I�ll be gone through the week, and I look forward to coming home to you. I love you very much,
Daddy

<< starboard ~ port >>