index
archives
profile
cast
links
notes
email
dland

A "Dangerous" Holiday

(Monday, May. 26, 2003 - 2:37 pm)

Part I

I actually took the time to plan out this trip, as opposed to countless other attempts where confusion barely managed to reign over disaster which tends to leave the entire trip spent waiting on impending doom and watching the single black cloud that constantly hovers over me and anything I do threaten to open up and drench me with anticipated ruin. I sat for several days in front of the computer researching my options, prices, and making decisions and reservations. My little girl graduated from kindergarten last Thursday with perfect marks and I decided to use the occasion for both an excuse to get away while business was at a lull, and to reinforce in a positive way her finishing something and working hard. Hopefully this will subconsciously set a trend in motion that will continue on past high school and beyond college. (Yes, I *AM* trying to keep my bragging down to a minimum, thank you very much!)

There are some things that I am good at. Packing is one. Years of trucking over the road for weeks at a time have taught me valuable lessons in what to take and what not to take in your bag, how much of the stuff you can get in there and where to stick it. (Don�t go there!) I have a full sized Ford conversion van and I packed it to the brim with stuff. Two ice chests, one for cold drinks, and another for foodstuffs to picnic with. A full picnic basket as well, not to mention several Wal-Mart (Sorry GBG), bags of chips and even some of the new Natural Cheetos! You just have to try these, because they are, �To die for�. My fellow junk food junk-a-holics rejoice for we have a new choice! All praise to Frito Lay! (Is there a 12 step program for Junk food junkies?) I packed every imaginable goodie I could think of, apples, oranges, grapes, bananas, fudge Oreo cookies. You name it, I packed it. Everyone that went, HRM, Princess, The Queen Mum and I had a suitcase. Then there was extra blankets, pillows, hats, photographic bags and equipment, and bags of shoes. I am rather amazed that I was able to get it all in the van and even in a semi-quasi organized fashion. I prepped the house, dimmed the lights and used the truck to take the �doggles and catays� (Grins at Omorfia) to the kennel. Rush back and meet everyone at the house after the Princess has her last muster at school. I douse the lights, secure the curtains, and lock the doors. After a quick stop at the gas station to take on fuel and take the Princess to the restroom again, we fasten our seatbelts and drop the transmission into drive, headed westward.

To be continued�

<< starboard ~ port >>