index
archives
profile
cast
links
notes
email
dland

Mermaids, Spiders and Love

(01.21.2005 - 10:30 pm)

I sit here and type while being watched over by a small blue thing. It has many legs, several eyes and peers at me from atop my monitor. It came to me from afar and was quite determined in its task to arrive here. Its value to me is immeasurable. I focus on this little spider and let my mind wander. It reminds me that we as humans have acquired a weakness or desire for the material things in life. We as a culture have reached a point where we must acquire branded goods to display as status symbols for our peers as proof of having paid our dues and climbed the ladder of success. I sit and look at this little spider and think. Often times I make decisions with the help of that little spider. It turns out to be one of the very best gifts I have ever received. Wait a minute though; don�t take your eye off the ball dear reader, because it isn�t about the spider you see, it�s about the person who sent it. It�s about sending something to someone just because you want to. It�s about a desire to communicate the feeling and emotion of caring and of love. It�s about giving the only thing you can when it�s the only thing you have to give. That, in and of itself, makes it the one most precious gift in the world. I�m talking, of course, about love. Love can indeed then, come in the form of a spider.

Good Night Diaryland
xoxoxox

<< starboard ~ port >>