index
archives
profile
cast
links
notes
email
dland

Day two

(Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2003 - 10:36 pm)

Dear Savannah,

Today we brought you home. The nurse made us sign for you before she would cut the alarm band from around your left ankle. It would go off anytime you came within 15 feet of the elevator door. All kinds of buzzers and lights would be set off and all the nurses would come to that area and make sure I was your daddy. I wasn�t upset in the least, because if it helped you or any other baby from being stolen then it was well worth the trouble. They said just last week the alarm sounded and the baby didn�t belong to the person carrying her. I can�t imagine how I would feel if you had been stolen. I bought you a big pink balloon that said �It�s a Girl!� and a white bunny rabbit with huge ears. I brought your mommy a lot of yellow flowers to brighten her room. The hospital doesn�t give the little car seats anymore, but I remembered to bring the one your sister came home in over seven years ago with me.

We wheeled you and your mommy downstairs in a wheelchair and got the two of you situated in the van. You didn�t mind the ride home at all which surprised some but not me. You�ve been riding already, more miles than most adults drive in a year before you were ever born! I guess the bumps and jiggles may have reminded you of being in the big truck while still inside you mommy. In any event, you fell asleep almost instantly when the van started moving.

You wore a pink jumper that your aunt bought you, a pink and white stocking cap and you were wrapped in a light pink blanket. Once home you announced to the world that you were hungry. The hospital sent a starter pack home with you, and your grandmother fixed you a bottle while your sister and I went to go get the supplies that you would need. We bought a small fortune of stuff! When I last bought baby formulae, it was an easy task, there were three brands, and one of those were generic. This time I was amazed at rows and rows of different brands and subtypes of those brands. I bought the lotion, shampoo, oil, powder, booties, jumpers, socks, gosh, a million things! After I returned home and put those things away, I took five pink balloons and wrote your name on a poster board and nailed it to a wooden stick and drove it in the ground out in the front yard. It has pink ribbons and stuff! I think you�ll like it. Every now and again I hear a car horn honk ever so softly, letting me know they read it I guess, or saying �Hi Savannah!� maybe.

Tonight was interesting as we decided which bottle nipples worked the best for you. It was an easy choice, the slow feed, or, �natural� nipples. When you tried the medium flow you gagged yourself you tried to drink so much! Golly gee whiz you go after that thing! People won�t let you alone after your feedings; your maw-maw and sister keep holding you and not putting you in the bed. Soon it would be time to feed you all over again, and the process repeats itself. At nine o�clock you got really fussy. Everybody here tried to calm you down. Finally your mommy asks me to calm you down, because she thinks I can. She said you would calm down whenever I put my hand on her belly, and would even cure your hiccups by just touching you. I picked you up and started walking. By the time I was in the next room you were sound asleep. It�s a quarter past ten at night now and I have the baby monitor set up. Your Maw-maw and sister went to bed a long time ago. Your mommy is resting and reading a book. Well, she is holding the book at any event, she�s really asleep, but don�t tell her I told you that.

I�ve just checked in on you again, and you are comfortable and peaceful. You had a seriously big day today sweetheart! I think I will take advantage of the time and sneak in a nap myself.

Until the morrow, I hope you have sweet dreams Savannah!

I love you!

<< starboard ~ port >>